Warm up game finished. Couple of valuable lessons learnt:

1) Sreesanth and Mishra are very effective declaration bowlers. Should help them get a county contract.

Good. A positive.

Plus, if one of our batsmen needs to regain form against some gentle long-hops, no worries, we’ve got exactly the net bowlers we need.

Another positive. I’m feeling better about this game already.

2) If you don’t take advantage of the loose shot Struass plays on 78, he’ll go on and make a century.

Duly noted.

When that happens in the tests we won’t be surprised by it. The look on our faces whilst we applaud him reaching three figures will say “Yeah, we knew you were going to do that, we’re one step ahead of you”.

It’s that kind of preparation that’ll make India a very different team now I’m in charge.

~~~

Team coach stopped off at Pizza Express on way to London. Ordering for this lot is starting to do my head in.

Had to put foot down with Dhoni. Don’t care if he’s captain, he can’t have Dough Balls AND Garlic Bread for starters. Stop trying to be a hero, MS. That’s just filling up with cheap carbohydrates.

Plus it causes trouble when we come to split the bill. You know what Sharma’s like. “blah, blah, blah, only had salad and orange juice, blah, blah, shouldn’t pay as much as the others, blah, blah, blah.” Yeah, that’s right, Ishant. But you still always sit next to me because you know I’ll leave half the jalapeno peppers and one of the slices from my American Hot. And are your “are you leaving that?” tactics ever factored into your calculations? I think we all know the answer to that.

Oh, and while I’m at it, when we’re play the Who Wants to be a Millionaire machine, you consult with people before pressing the buttons. Since when is Bismarck the state capital of Utah, FFS. That cost us a guaranteed £2.40 pay-out and a chance at the bonus feature.

Bismarck, Utah. I ask you.

Man, that guy winds me up sometimes.

