16th March 2011

Positive visualisation. Management’s phrase of the day is positive visualisation. To achieve success tomorrow we must first “mentally walk through the process of winning”.

I’m struggling with this. Not because I can’t imagine us beating the West Indies – after all they’re no Ireland – but I just can’t positively visualise positive visualisation.

I explained to Andy Flower that I had a negative visualisation of positive visualisation and after he’d sat down and thought about it for a while he agreed it was a problem.

I did ask him to have a positive visualisation of my negative visualisation of positive visualisation but that didn’t help either. He had, as I pointed out to him, a negative visualisation of my suggested positive visualisation of my negative visualisation of positive visualisation.

It was at that point Andy retired to his room with a migraine and the squad got the afternoon off as leisure time. Which was a result. In fact it was a result of the positive visualisation I had of what to do as soon as I heard the phrase positive visualisation. Perhaps there is something in this crap after all?

